SPJIMR receives the 1st Indian Management Conclave Gold Award

The SP Jain Institute of Management & Research was honoured with the 1st Indian Management Conclave (IMC) Gold Award in recognition of the Institute’s accomplishments in "Developing an Appreciation for Distributive Justice among MBAs". The awards were announced and given away by the Minister of State for Human Resources Development Dr. Shashi Tharoor on August 3 at the 4th Indian Management Conclave 2013 in New Delhi. The awards document and recognize the most successful initiatives by management institutes to enhance the value of their MBA programs

Dr. Atish Chattopadhyay, Professor and Deputy Director for the Post Graduate Diploma in Management (PGDM), received the award on behalf of SPJIMR. The award ceremony was attended by over 250 MBA educators including Directors from B-schools across India, China, USA, Singapore and Canada. Dr. Tharoor was also the Guest of Honour and Valedictory Keynote speaker for Conclave.

The Gold IMC Awards 2013 were given under different categories; SPJIMR was awarded under “Theme 2: Improving the Core Product: Revisiting the Program Architecture”. The Award was for the initiative of “Developing an Appreciation for Distributive Justice among MBAs”.

Presenting the awards, Dr. Shashi Tharoor said that B-schools should learn from each other and adopt the best practices to enhance the value of MBA education in the country. He hoped that IMC Awards will go a long way in helping B-schools to learn best practices in Management education. “I hope IMC Awards, based on a thorough research and documentation of unique initiatives in management education, will help B-schools to enhance the quality of their MBA programs,” the Minister said.

The Awards instituted by MBAUniverse.com had received more than 50 nominations from B-schools and University MBA departments across India. An eminent IMC Awards jury including Dr. Devi Singh, Director, IIM Lucknow; Fr. E. Abraham S.J., Director, XLRI, Jamshedpur; Dr. Pritam Singh, DG, IMI & Former Director IIM Lucknow; Dr. Rajan Saxena, Vice Chancellor, NMIMS University, Mumbai; Dr. Debashis Chatterjee, Director, IIM Kozhikode and Dr. Sesha Iyer, Director, S P Jain Institute of Management & Research, Mumbai had shortlisted 12 finalists who presented their cases during the two-day 4th Indian Management Conclave Conference 2013.

The IMC Awards finalists were selected though a multi-tier process. In case any of the Jury members' institution had entered the IMC Awards 2013, as an accepted international practice, the concerned Jury member did not award any score on that entry. The average scores of rest of the judges were considered as final for such nomination.